Southern Championships

Sunday 12th December

2021 Southern Orienteering Championships at South Ashdown
The 2021 Southern Championship incorporating the final race
of the 2021 UK Orienteering League.

Trophies for the Southern Championships will be awarded to members of

Medals for the South East Orienteering Association Long Distance
Championships will be awarded to members of SEOA

The event will also include the South-East Veterans Trophies (just enter
your normal Southern Championship courses and we will work out the trophy winners).

View Your Entry

Entries are closed. Sign in to view your entries.

Entered: 627

1. M21E 14.2km 500m climb
Entry limit: 25
Entered: 16

2. W21E, M20E, M18E, M35L, M40L, M21L 10.8km 350m climb
Entry limit: 35
Entered: 16

3. M45L, M50L 9.4km 340m climb
Entry limit: 40
Entered: 24

4. W21L, M55L, M18L, M20L, M21S 9.0km 330m climb
Entry limit: 30
Entered: 16

5. M60L, M16A 8.2km 290m climb
Entry limit: 35
Entered: 22

6. W20E, W18E, W35L, W40L, M35S, M40S 7.6km 295m climb
Entry limit: 20
Entered: 10

7. W45L, W50L, M65L, M45S 6.8km 230m climb
Entry limit: 50
Entered: 39

8. W55L, W21S, W20L, W18L, W16A, M70L, M50S, M55S, M20S, M18S 6.6km 240m climb
Entry limit: 65
Entered: 42

9. W60L, W35S, M75L, M60S 6.2km 225m climb
Entry limit: 45
Entered: 25

10. W65L, W70L, W40S, W45S, W50S, M65S 4.4km 180m climb
Entry limit: 40
Entered: 21

11. W75, W20S, W18S, W55S, W60S, M80, M70S 3.9km 165m climb
Entry limit: 30
Entered: 17

12. W80, W85, W90, W65S, W70S, M85, M90, M75S 3.0km 135m climb
Entry limit: 30
Entered: 14

13. M14A, M16B 5.8km 205m climb
Entry limit: 15
Entered: 5

14. W14A, W16B 3.8km 150m climb
Entry limit: 15
Entered: 10

15. W12A, W14B, M12A, M14B 3.6km 145m climb
Entry limit: 20
Entered: 14

16. W10A, W12B, M10A, M12B 2.3km 85m climb
Entry limit: 15
Entered: 6

17. W10B, M10B, White 2.0km 70m climb
All course lengths are provisional and subject to final controlling
Entry limit: 10
Entered: 1

Entry Fees
From 14th November:
        Senior: £15.00
        Non-BOF member supplement: £2.00
        Senior Chip hire: £1.00
        Senior Enhanced Chip hire: £2.50
        Junior: £7.00
        Junior Chip hire: £1.00
        Junior Enhanced Chip hire: £2.50
From 6th December:
        Senior: £17.00
        Non-BOF member supplement: £2.00
        Senior Chip hire: £1.00
        Senior Enhanced Chip hire: £2.50
        Junior: £8.00
        Junior Chip hire: £1.00
        Junior Enhanced Chip hire: £2.50

Juniors are under 21 on 31st December.

Seniors £15, Juniors (under 21) £7, by 5th December 2021.
Seniors £17, Juniors and Students £8, by 11th December(mid-day) (subject to map availability).
Note: There is a £2 surcharge for Non-BOF Seniors
SI electronic punching will used, add £1 to hire an SICard (lost units charged at £30) or £2.50 for a contactless SIAC card (lost units charged at £65).
Students : -- e-mail the organiser for a discount code !!
Event Information

South Ashdown is part of the Ashdown Forest AONB. The Northern Part (visited by all the courses) was last used in 2018 see December 2018 RouteGadget whilst the Southern Part (visited by courses 1,2 and 3) was last used in December 2002 (before RouteGadget!!)

Parking will be in Pippingford Park (which is adjacent to the area)

Starts and finish will be within 500 metres of Assembly and Download which will be adjacent to the car parking area

Updated and extended from the 2018 map during the intervening years. The map is ISOM2017. Survey and cartography by Mike Elliot. Scale is 1:15,000 with 5 metre contours printed on A3 waterproof paper for Courses 1&2 and 1:10,000 with 5 metre contours printed on A3+ waterproof paper for Courses 3 to 17
(NOTE: The original information had Course 3 at 1:15,000, this has now changed)

You can view the 2018 map Here

SI Controls will be used throughout and will be SIAC enabled (other than the Start and Finish). SIAC units will be available to hire.
Note that Courses 1 has more than 30 controls (due to the necessity for 2 road crossings) so SI-5 cards will not record all the splits (they will record 30 splits and 6 additional controls) and SI-8 cards will only record 30 splits (and no extra controls).

There will be 2 starts close to each other. The starts are within 500 metres of the car park. Starts are from 10:30 am to 13:00 and courses close at 15:00

Public Transport
Whilst we recognise that restrictions have been eased, it is recommended not to use public transport to reduce the risk of Covid transmission.

The nearest rail station is East Grinstead, 8 Miles to the north of Pippingford Park.
There is no public transport on Sundays passing Pippingford Park.

Results will be available on the club web site as soon as possible after the event.

Please make yourself aware of and follow the British Orienteering Guidance for Participants (revised 19 July 2021).

You are responsible for your own safety and you take part in this event at your own risk.

Orienteering is a physically challenging sport. Competitors take part at their own risk.

South Ashdown is mainly open exposed moorland off an East/West running ridge
and in inclement weather it may be compulsory for competitors to carry
windproof/waterproof cagoules.
All competitors are required to carry a whistle.

Planner: Tony Burton (MV)
Controller: Mike Murray (SLOW)
Organiser: Mike Elliot (MV)

Assisted by members of Mole Valley and Saxons